Before/After: The Living Room

So this is what our living room looked like before we moved in.

BEFORE 

Source: Pics from real estate listing

AFTER

screen-shot-2016-10-08-at-6-10-15-pm

Day

screen-shot-2016-10-08-at-6-11-15-pm

Night (with our old furniture)

This wasn’t too much of a DIY project but we did replace the stained blue carpet with dark hardwoods, took down the moldy drapes and changed the furniture layout in the room. I think this layout opens up the room alot more and makes the fireplace more of the focal point.

Our color scheme for decor is gray, blue and white. It’s funny because I didn’t necessarily plan this out but those are the colors I gravitated to and they just worked together. Because I am so budget-conscious, I wanted to create a cost breakdown for the furniture and room decor:

TOTAL COST: $2453.99

Moroccan Shag Rug: $418 with 70% off discount (Similar) Rugs USA

For a 9×12 rug, I think this is a pretty good price. I love how it adds a really cozy feeling to the more structured and modern furniture shapes. West Elm sells a similar rug for $1,099.

Arc Lamp: $124 MyHabit.com (They’ve closed and now they are just Amazon.com)

I realize this is a knockoff but couldn’t afford the original $2,995 price tag from DWR. I thought this was the perfect replica. The quality is pretty good and it looks perfect in the living room.

Karlie sofa: $629 Macy’s

I’ve had really good luck with Macy’s sofas. Our other sofa from Macy’s lasted 7 years and is still going! They had this in a beautiful poppy color but knowing how fickle I am, I decided gray would be more practical and I could just add color with pillows and throws.

Throw pillows: $8 for pillow covers from Ikea,$30 Threshold blue lumbar pillow from Target

Shag rug (used as throw): $14.99 from Ikea

Coffee table: Old but purchased years ago for $30 at Goodwill in San Francisco

Cloud sofa: $0 for sofa but around $1200 to reupholster. Sofa from Modernica

I saved the best for last because this was such a great steal. A neighbor wanted to get rid of this and I wanted to give it new life and took it to Torres Custom Upholstery. They are AMAZING. Jose helped me pick fabric and we decided on using outdoor upholstery fabric since I wanted a white sofa but have a toddler. (Great combination, I know!) But get this, when the movers got the fabric a little dirty from carrying it in , Jose didn’t just try to take the dirt off, he actually re-upholstered the whole thing AGAIN! I couldn’t be happier with their service and the result.

Here is the before and after:

screen-shot-2016-10-08-at-6-10-30-pm

Reupholstering does wonders!

So there you have it. That’s our little living room! It’s a work-in-progress but we’re pretty happy with it for now.

Leave a comment